ATTRACTIONS and WHAT'S ON

On this page we give you an idea of the variety of things to do in the immediate and surrounding area. For up to date details of events and other places to visit, please see either of the following:
www.visit-dorset.com/whats-on
www.whatsonindorset.co.uk/default.aspx

Fossil Hunting and Beaches –
Charmouth Heritage Centre, Fossil Walks, Rockpool Rambles www.charmouth.org/chcc/
Lyme Regis Museum, Fossil Walks, www.lymeregismuseum.co.uk/whats-on/fossil-walks
Sandy beaches at Lyme Regis, Weymouth & Charmouth East Beach. Most of the rest of the coastline between Weymouth and Lyme Regis is the Chesil Beach which is made up of various sizes of pebbles.

Walking -
We have detailed maps to loan of lots of lovely walks from the farm and around the area. The coastal path offers testing walking with fabulous views.
Dorset Wildlife Trust give suggested walks: www.dorsetwildlifetrust.org.uk/ant_hill_trail.html
Here are details of the popular Wessex Ridgeway and others: www.dorsetforyou.com/397830

Cycling –
Try an electric bike tour along the stunning Jurassic Coast or in the charming Marshwood Vale with award-winning Jurassic Electric Bikes. www.jurassic-electric.co.uk
Here are details about Dorset’s cycle routes www.dorsetforyou.com/cycling/west

Picture by Neil Barnes Picture by Martyn Pearce Picture by Neil Barnes Picture by Neil Barnes

Riding –
Bidlake Farm near Bridport, Jo Forsey www.bidlakestables.co.uk
We suggest you book prior to arrival as stables get very booked up in the holiday season. You will need to let them know the riders age, height, weight and any experience. Don’t worry if you are a beginner they will have riding hats for loan.

Fishing –
Course Fishing is available at New House Farm and Highway Farm. Both on the edge of Bridport, these are both run by personal friends of mine and like riding stables can get booked up so it is worth booking prior to arrival. www.mangertonlake.co.uk/fishing_lake.htm   www.highwayfarm.co.uk/lake-fishing
Sea Fishing on the coast www.wheretoseafish.com/south-coast-2/dorset/chesil-beach
Fishing off boats, West Bay www.westbayfishingtrips.co.uk
Fishing off boats, Lyme Regis, Harry May www.mackerelfishinglymeregis.com

Houses and Gardens –
Mapperton, just outside Beaminster www.mapperton.com
Forde Abbey, near Chard www.fordeabbey.co.uk
Athelhampton, near Dorchester www.athelhampton.co.uk
Montacute House, near Yeovil www.nationaltrust.org.uk/montacute-house
Barrington Court, near Ilminster www.nationaltrust.org.uk/barrington-court
National Trust Dorset www.nationaltrust.org.uk/visit/local-to-you/south-west/things-to-see-and-do/dorset - this will show all the places to visit and the coastal car parks free to members.

Annual Shows and Events –
May
Lyme Regis Fossil Festival www.fossilfestival.co.uk
Bath and West Show, nr. Shepton Mallet www.bathandwest.com/royal-bath-west/97
Sherborne Castle Country Fair www.sherbornecountryfair.com
May/June
Abbotsbury Swannery Cygnets (baby swans) hatching www.abbotsbury-tourism.co.uk/swannery
June
Beaminster Festival www.beamfest.org.uk
July
RNLI Lifeboat Week, Lyme Regis www.lymeregis.org/events/lyme-regis-lifeboat-week-11
August
Lyme Regis Regatta and Carnival www.lymeregis.org/events/regatta-and-carnival-week-548
Bridport Carnival and Tourchlight Porcession www.visit-dorset.com/whats-on/bridport-carnival-2015-p550713
Melplash Show, Bridport www.melplashshow.co.uk
September
The Great Dorset Steam Fair, Nr. Blandford http://www.gdsf.co.uk
Dorchester Show www.dorsetcountyshow.co.uk/page/home
Bridport Hat Festival www.bridporthatfest.org

Museums –
National Aviation Museum, near Yeovil www.fleetairarm.com
Bovington Tank Museum, near Wareham www.tankmuseum.org
Haynes Motor Museum, Sparkford www.haynesmotormuseum.com
Dorset County Museum, Dorchester www.dorsetcountymuseum.org
Lyme Regis Museum, Lyme Regis www.lymeregismuseum.co.uk
Beaminster Museum, beaminstermuseum.wordpress.com
Bridport Museum, www.bridportmuseum.co.uk